Holst: Suite No. 1 in Eb (Grade 3+)

  • Holst: Suite No. 1 in Eb (Grade 3+) - Marching Show Concepts

Holst: Suite No. 1 in Eb (Grade 3+)



Music Files Below (left click to listen, right click to download)

1.  First Suite
2.  Intermezzo
3.  Chaconne
4.  March

Composer:  Tom Weidner, John MacFarland
Total Time:  7:43

"First Suite in E-flat for Military Band" is a cornerstone in the concert band repertoire. Originally written by the prominent British composer, Gustav Holst, Center X Productions transforms this classic into a contemporary masterpiece. After a cyclone like introduction, exciting pit moments accompany the low brass statement of the main theme, followed by brass, woodwind, and percussion features allowing for plenty of staging opportunities. "Intermezzo": Very true to the original with a few surprises thrown in, plus numerous opportunities to feature small groupings or soloists. "Chaconne": The main theme, along with its inversion, comes back in a ballad like treatment reminiscent of many contemporary marching band compositions. "March": Based mostly on the trio melody of Holst's original final movement, a few rhythmic, harmonic, and thematic twists and turns bring the show to a rousing conclusion. "You will entertain and educate your performers and audience with this thrilling arrangement!"